Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Topkick Brewing

Keg Size

Hey,

I am new to brewing and the forum my wife bought a MB LBK for my birthday.  I have brewed one batch which turned out ok, not as carbonated as I had hoped, but not bad.  My big question is, a friend of mine has offered to give me a 2.5 gallon keg for free.  Can I use this with a 2 gal. batch and still have adequate carbonation?

Rodeohard 

If you're asking whether you can put 2.13 gallons of Mr. Beer fermented wort (i.e. after 3 weeks) into a 2.5 gallon metal keg and carbonate it, the answer is yes - of course you need CO2, the proper hoses, connectors, taps...  Keg doesn't care if it's full or not.

By the way - if your batch didn't turn out as carbonated as you hoped, that has NOTHING to do with kegging.  If you ferment for 3 weeks, use the proper amount of sugar in your bottles and carbonate/condition for 4 weeks (or more) at 70 or higher, your beer should be properly carbonated - in fact, many say that Mr. Beer's carbonation levels are too high, and cut back to 65 - 75% of those levels.

Have fun spending all that money just to store, carbonate, and pour yourself a beer. I just let time, a little sugar, and myself do all that for me. I'd rather spend the hundreds of dollars on beer & making beer than a "kegerator".

But that's just me...

:D

For me the act of bottling my beer brings that much more of the "hand crafted" feel to it.  Much more personal.