Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Grifoni24

Adding Hops at different times

Quick question regarding adding hops at different stages.  I have tried a couple different recipes on adding hops after boiling the water and also a week after fermenting.

So, as i eventually move to creating my own type recipes, I was curious what do the two styles add/differ to the taste?  

Thanks!

Thanks guys!  I have glanced at all the sites and forums, but will certainly read deeper into this.  I am still a newbie only brewed like 12 batches now, but start mixing hops into some of the blends to get flavors that remind me of europe before i leave.

I am currently experimenting with the Wiesbier now.  Started with the normal recipe nothing added.  Now making the wild wheat to see how that compares.  I am also waiting on the Wild Wheat with Hollentrau hops to compare the tastes.  Both were brewed at flameout.  After I find a good wiesbeir replica, I am moving on to the Belgians because not being able to drive there and pick up the Trappist beers will be hard for me.  Now, i now I wont be able to make make exacts, just looking for something the mimics (reminds) of a Belgian blonde, brun, and quad.

Thanks again!

Perhaps you want to spend more time reviewing the links given.  You will see a chart in the post I linked to.  Note the terms - Bitterness, Flavor, and Aroma.  The additions you have done, at flameout and at 1 week, do not impact flavor except that aroma impacts your tastes.  You need to do hop boils to impact flavor.

2 hours ago, Grifoni24 said:

Thanks guys!  I have glanced at all the sites and forums, but will certainly read deeper into this.  I am still a newbie only brewed like 12 batches now, but start mixing hops into some of the blends to get flavors that remind me of europe before i leave.