Mr.Beer Community
Creeps McLane

Gluten free beer???

I'm no expert but my brew buddy want to brew a gluten free beer for his mother. We'd do a ten gallon batch, low ABV is the goal. He sent me the ingredients and I had some concerns with the amount of adjuncts. Looking for any input. Basic outline looks something like this: 6 lbs of sorghum extract, 6 lbs of flaked rice and 3 lbs of honey. 

I was thinking more sorghum and less rice because I'm not sure if the rice has the proper enzymes to convert sugars and if the sorghum would have enough to assist. The honey scares me too because I don't want the beer to be too dry. 

Both the rice and the sorghum have 0 diastatic power (0 enzymes). The solution to this is amylase enzyme, which you can purchase at your LHBS. This will take the place of the enzymes in barley malt. (Amylase enzyme preparations come from fungi and do not contain gluten.). Add about 2 tsp for a 10 gallon batch. You generally want to AVOID getting too much starch into solution, so you want to steep the rice below gelatinization temperature.  Since most gluten-free grains have a gelatinization temperature that is higher than usual mash temps, steeping at 155 F is usually safe; just, whatever you do, do NOT boil them!  If you steep too hot, you will get an excess of starch in your beer that will make it impossible to clear (no matter how much finings you add or how many times you rack and cold-crash).  You may even get a starchy flavor that will not be pleasant.