Bach's Brews

Ideas on Bourbon Barrel Stout

35 posts in this topic

I've tasted lots of different Bourbon Barrel beers in my life and would love to make one myself.  I've read where someone used the Shameless Stout pack and added the necessary oak chips and whiskey after the 1 week mark of fermentation.   I know oak chips are strong and plan to soak in water first to ease the oaky taste, then soak in whiskey for 48-72 hours before I would put them into the LBK.  Any seasoned vets have suggestions on how to make this work?  There's no real recipes for this on Mr. Beer that I can find, but am open to ideas!

dale hihn and HoppySmile! like this

HoppySmile is brewing one right now.  I would give him some time and he'll have some advice for you.  This is also on my "dream list".  I've been researching this for a few months now and I've come to 2 conclusions:

1. It's going to be expensive to brew, IF you do it right.

2. I'm nowhere near the level of expertise (yet) that it requires to make this. 

**To do this the RIGHT way--It takes about a year from brew to consume!!

GBear379 and HoppySmile! like this

21 minutes ago, AnthonyC said:

HoppySmile is brewing one right now.  I would give him some time and he'll have some advice for you.  This is also on my "dream list".  I've been researching this for a few months now and I've come to 2 conclusions:

1. It's going to be expensive to brew, IF you do it right.

2. I'm nowhere near the level of expertise (yet) that it requires to make this. 

**To do this the RIGHT way--It takes about a year from brew to consume!!

If you do it like @HoppySmile! you'll really be breaking the bank. His standard 5 gallon brews usually include 5 packs of booster! :lol:

HoppySmile! likes this

3 minutes ago, Big Sarge said:

If you do it like @HoppySmile! you'll really be breaking the bank. His standard 5 gallon brews usually include 5 packs of booster! :lol:

Haha...  I know he went all out on that one.  Bought the barrel and all!