rsnake2

"Stuff" floating in keg...

24 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

Was out of town and my beer sat in the keg an extra 2 weeks. Five weeks total. First try with Weissbier. I have stuff floating in the keg and am hesitant to bottle. The pic shows bluish but it is more like brown and tan. Please help!

20170417_194556.jpg

Edited by rsnake2
Typo

@rsnake2.....Put the lid back on carefully (if you havent already) and gently set the LBK in your fridge.  I am no expert.... this could be as simple as yeast/krausen rafts (harmless of course... just try not to bottle them) to a possible infection... @RickBeer, @MRB Josh R, @Shrike, @Bonsai & Brew, @Bach's Brews , @MRB Tim........ these guys might be better suited to tell you what it might really be.... (there are several others too... just cant think of them all...lol)

A couple questions though....

Was this cold crashed? (meaning after fermentation did you place it in your fridge for 2-3 days for stuff to settle to bottom and help clear out the beer)

Did you follow proper sanitation practices? (Be honest here... aint no shame in admitting you missed a step)

What temperature has the LBK been in and at? (do you have a stick on thermometer on the LBK to monitor wort temp?.... if not... i would recommend one)

Lbk was clean..star sanitized. Kept in my pantry in texas, around 72°. Left in keg 5-6 weeks. I am a newbie, 5 batches with no issues. I have never cold crashed.

if floaty bits were brownish or brown tan/green I would say it was normal krausen clumps or yeast rafts.  oily bits I would say were likely hop oil.  normally you get some oxidation of the krausen once things die down and the floaty bits get dark.  us04 yeast loves to leave behind rafts of yeast on top that can pick up an almost orange look.

since the floaty bits look stark white in the photo  I think rick might be right.  to me it looks like it might be forming a pellicle.  it's not the grey filmy snot bubbles of lactobacillus.