Mr.Beer Community
joshua.j.grissom

Questions from a noob brewer

Hello Everyone

I am brand new to home brewing and while i have just brewed and started fermenting my first batch i can't help but feel like most first time brewers. I have started an inch that i cannot stop. i have been browsing through the forums quite often in the past few days learning as much as i can about this new hobby of mine. While i know that trial, error and much studying will get me through these first few brews, i have a few questions. 

1st Question

Right now it is currently about 76 degrees in the room that i have my LBK, the first batch that i am brewing is the basic Long Play IPA. I quickly realized from reading through the forums that this is probably to warm for optimum brewing so i have a cooler on the way to get the temp down. Any suggestions to keep the temp down for the next few days while i wait on my cooler to arrive? Have i botched my first batch or am i still good? 

2nd Question

I plan to purchase a 6g Fermentor. What are some suggestions on keeping a fermentor of that size at the right temperature, does anybody have any pictures or quick explanations of their 6g setups? 

Basically, what is the best set up for someone that is really interested in continuing this new found exciting hobby, i find myself wanting to somewhat be a perfectionist in an area i don't know much about but am trying to learn as much as possible.

1st answers:

got an electric fan?  freeze a plastic bottle of water, put it in a pie pan in front of your lbk. put a fan blowing toward the bottle in front of the lbk... instant mini air conditioner.

if you don't have a cooler but you have a cardboard box you could put the lbk in the box with a bottle of ice. it wont insulate as well as a cooler... but anything's better than nothing.

you can freeze a bunch of plastic bottles of water and put them around the lbk.