Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
doc280

Basic Chocolate Coffee Stout

7 posts in this topic

I am very new to the homebrew scene and I have only been brewing Mr. Beer extracts, just as they come. I am keeping things simple so I can just enjoy the homebrew experience, but I need a brew for the Holidays and the wife wants chocolate and coffee.

So this is what I have come up with:

Mr. Beer St. Patrick's Irish Stout

4oz Ghirardelli 100% unsweetened cocoa ( Added at boil )

1 tbsp Pure Vanilla Extract ( added at flame out )

Cold brew coffee concentrate ( added at bottling ) [ not sure how much at this time, will update ]

At bottling I think I will keep five bottles just a chocolate stout and the other five a chocolate coffee stout, by added the coffee concentrate

The LBK is in the brew closet and it smells like chocolate love in there.

I will update with the results

IMG_20171012_143059-1024x768.jpg

hotrod3539, Shrike, moots and 1 other like this

Three weeks in and the sample taste like a good rich beer. It has a slight almost like a cherry taste, then bitter and very mellow after taste. I am not picking up the chocolate or vanilla.

I believe I may have been pitching the yeast while the wort has been to warm which may be causing the cherry (fruit) taste. Don't get me wrong the taste is good, but I noticed it in a few of my brews. I have since started using an ice bath to cool the wort down. 

Anyway the batch is cold crashing and will be bottled Sunday.

hotrod3539 likes this

I bottled this batch yesterday. Five bottles are Chocolate Stouts and I added ice brewed coffee concentrate ( 1tbsp ) to the other five bottles, Chocolate Coffee Stout.

The trub looked just like chocolate pudding, but I refrained myself from eating it.

Shrike and TonyKZ1 like this

On 11/2/2017 at 6:35 AM, doc280 said: