Jdub

Recipe suggestion

46 posts in this topic

I'm a newbie. I have a bottling day coming up this weekend and don't want my LBK sitting idle for long after this run. When I got my rig I got several extract cans. I have an Am.Porter and an Am.Lager refill left. Is there a great recipe anyone recommends with either one of those cans? Also I have a great local HB shop I can get ingredients at too.  Thanks

MiniYoda likes this

Mr. Beer's web site has a very good method of narrowing down their recipes by selecting the HME and/or other aspects.  Also, if you have Excel, you can use the spreadsheet I created

http://community.mrbeer.com/applications/core/interface/file/attachment.php?id=3813

It helps in narrowing down recipes and shows full ingredient lists, etc.

MiniYoda......shameless self promotion.

On Friday, February 02, 2018 at 3:12 PM, Jdub said:

I'm a newbie. I have a bottling day coming up this weekend and don't want my LBK sitting idle for long after this run. When I got my rig I got several extract cans. I have an Am.Porter and an Am.Lager refill left. Is there a great recipe anyone recommends with either one of those cans? Also I have a great local HB shop I can get ingredients at too.  Thanks

For my own enjoyment, I add English treacle and brown sugar to the American Porter. After two weeks I transfer into a second LBK with oak spirals soaked in bourbon.

Bonsai & Brew likes this

I want the following styles (excuse me if they already have them)
something silmular too.

Fosters Premium ale (not the lager)
Estrella Dam
Medella light
Tona pale lager
Shiner Prickley Pear
Buddah Beer

Lets just leave it there for now as I have 100s of favourit

MiniYoda likes this

On 2/2/2018 at 3:44 PM, Shrike said:

Using the porter, you can't go wrong with Black Beer'd Porter or Staggerback Stout.  Both are damned tasty beers.