Mr.Beer Community
Pantooka

Oktoberfest FG

I am just beginning to use my hydrometer. I didn’t have it when I brewed this batch of Oktoberfest, so, unfortunately, I don’t know the OG. I tested the wort today - just passed 3 weeks: reading was 1.015. Are we there yet?  I fermented pretty cool: 60-64 most of the time. I brought it out at room temperature a couple of days ago to finish: 68-72F. 

As always, thank you to all who give me such great advice!  This forum is wonderful!

RickBeer has it right.  Take another reading.

For what it's worth, I brewed the Oktoberfestivus recipe on 7/29/16 and followed the instructions exactly.  It fermented for 21 days and then I did the cold crash for two days.  I had an OG 1.041 and a FG 1.008.  But your batch may be done at 1.015.

By coincidence (or Providence?) I just finished the last bottle of my Oktoberfestivus this evening.  I had conditioned that bottle for 3 months and it's been in the fridge for 443 days.  It was the best of the batch.  The taste is pretty malty.  Nothing else really spectacular about it.  But, seeing the last one go is still a little tough.

To youdontknowme311: It would be better if one of the more experienced brewers answered this one.  I had kept the LBK in a closet with temps between 58-64. I don’t think the temperature ever reached 65F. Because of that, I wondered if letting it sit just a bit longer at slightly higher temps might help FG. I found that idea in other posts. I’d be interested in others’ take on that. 

Cold crash, then bottle the beer.

You likely read the hydrometer wrong the first time.

58 is too cold.  You want the WORT temp (not the air temp) around 62 - 65.  That means at peak fermentation, it needs to be cooler in the room / fermentation chamber, and as fermentation slacks off it can be warmer, because the fermentation is not generating as much heat.