SuperBoyd

No Foam?

18 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone,

So first let me say I am new to brewing so bare with me.  I did a search for foam and couldn't find any results.  My wife got me a Mr Beer 2g kit with the Grand Bohemian Czech Pilsner Recipe.  So, I followed the instructions to a T.  I was worried about the spigot at first because I thought it was leaking but it ended up working fine.  Then comes my worry part of the brewing process.  I started this on Wed the 21 of Feb and I never saw any foam.  Should I be worried?  My temperature is 72 degrees.  It did have the milky look to it and so from what I gathered that is good.  Sunday the milky look was done and was sorta clear.  So I removed the Collar and quickly put the lid on it.  What I want to know is if you guys think I'm ok?  Thanks in advance for the advice.

Your beer is fine.  However, in the future you want to get that temp down somewhat.

The "foam" you refer to is called krausen.  It may last a long time, or not a long time.  It could have been at high krausen while you slept.  

If there is a layer of trub on the bottom, you're fine. 

Go 21 days, then bottle and let it sit for 28 days.

And do some reading between now and then.  

Not sure really how I can get the temp down.  I'm keeping it in a pantry and my house is usually between 70-72 degrees.  However, I did notice on Sunday the temperature was 70 degrees.  I hope you're right about me missing it foaming over night :)  I do have another question if you're reading this.  What are these booster packets I notice the site sales along with their refills?

11 minutes ago, SuperBoyd said: