Mr.Beer Community
Gutterbunnie

First batch ever: Bottling volume - extra trub?

I'm pretty new to home brewing. Ordered Mr Beer kit in Jan, made my first batch of American Light in Feb & 3 weeks later, bottled on Sunday. (unless you count making beer with my brother 20+ years ago where he used  sophisticated set-up, 5G Carboy, but lots of variation between batches d/t contamination & temp flux). So when it came time for my first bottling, I decided to go ahead & just use the PEP bottles that came with the kit for my first batch. Everything went fairly smoothly until the very last 11th bottle, and it fell short. I tried to get every lost drop of beer & ended up with half a bottle & lots of trub in my 11th. There seemed to be quit a bit of the white gunk settled on the bottom of the LBK. I hope that I did everything right. Has anyone else experienced this - maybe it was simply evaporation, or was some volume taken up by the dead yeast/trub?  I find it somewhat difficult to regulate temp in my home but it's on the low end this time of year (above 60F). I have a small space, and best place I found was a dark closet in upstairs bedroom. I do hope that it fermented correctly. I bought a stick on thermometer but it's not the greatest. I have not yet invested in hydrometer. I'm doing my best to follow the instructions in the kit to a T. Any help or suggestions are appreciated. I am readying myself to make my second batch of either Oktoberfest or Diablo IPA. Thanks!

Thanks! I'm excited to start another batch, different style beer. Hope it turns out well:)

yeah I'm curious how awful the half filled 11th will taste because it got 2 carbo drops & half the volume! probably not drinkable.......my mistake in putting in the carbo drops first before filling, I guess;)