Palmetto Brew

How long to condition?

12 posts in this topic

Hi, I'm new to brewing and I have just started my 1st batch of Rose's Rambling Red in my LBK.  I prepared for fermentation exactly as the directions said.  I am about two weeks in and expect to bottle in another week.  My question is in the instructions it says Fermentation: 3 weeks, Carbonation: 3 weeks, Bottle Conditioning: 2-4 weeks, Total Brewing, Time: 2-3 months.  The numbers don't add up.  Is the carbonation time included with the conditioning?  How long after bottling do I need to condition the beer before I drink it?

Carbing and conditioning can be thought of as one process. Generally, a minimum of 4 weeks at room temp after bottling. Then move a bottle to the fridge for 3 days of cold conditioning and drink it.

hotrod3539 and RickBeer like this

51 minutes ago, gophers6 said:

Carbing and conditioning can be thought of as one process. Generally, a minimum of 4 weeks at room temp after bottling. Then move a bottle to the fridge for 3 days of cold conditioning and drink it.

Thanks for the clarification!

I think of it this way:  during the three weeks for carbonation, the yeast are busy eating the sugar and farting out enough CO2 for you to have a nicely carb'd brew.  After they've eaten all the sugar, then they settle in and slowly help your beer's flavor improve - the conditioning phase.  When you look at it that way, the numbers DO add up:
 Fermentation: 3 weeks

+ Carbonation: 3 weeks

+ Bottle Conditioning: 2-4 weeks

Total Brewing, Time:  2-3 months

But as gophers6 said, for a brew like Rose's Rambling Red, put one in the fridge a month after bottling, let it sit for three days, then try it.  If you like the way it tastes, consider them ready to go.  If not, let them sit for another two weeks or so, then try another.

Oh, and welcome to the hobby and the forum!

Brian N., Jdub and youdontknowme311 like this