Mr.Beer Community
Palmetto Brew

A couple of newbie questions??

I just started my third batch of beer in my LBK (Chantilly Lace Recipe).  1) I added my HME and LME to the water I just removed from boiling heat.  The pot wasn't quite big enough and was too full to mix thoroughly.  So I got a larger pot and added water then I brought it to a boil to "sterilize" it.  I dumped that water then poured my HME/LME mix into the new pot and mixed thoroughly.  2) Once I had the wort with cold water from the refrigerator in the LBK, I pitched the yeast.  I noticed after I pitched the yeast that the temperature was cool.  (below the 65 to 75 degree recommended temperature for fermentation.  Will either of these things cause an "off taste" to the beer when finished?  Thanks for any advice you can give me.

What kind of yeast? I am a relative newbie myself but I would rather be on the cool side than too warm. My experience has been apple cider flavors (not good) when the temps get north of 70. I think you’ll be fine. Keep it around 65. Look up the temp range for your yeast. 

5 minutes ago, Jdub said:

What kind of yeast? I am a relative newbie myself but I would rather be on the cool side than too warm. My experience has been apple cider flavors (not good) when the temps get north of 70. I think you’ll be fine. Keep it around 65. Look up the temp range for your yeast. 

The standard yeast that came with the classic light in the recipe.  It says good between 65 and 75 degrees.

Ya that range is 65-75. I think you’re fine. Just ferment at the lower end of the right temp range. I’ve started off too cold before and monitored the temp to ferment at 65 and it turned out fine. I asked the same question to the experts recently and the answer was that if it’s too cold just don’t count that as one of the 21 days fermenting until it comes back up within range. 

43 minutes ago, Jdub said: