Mr.Beer Community
robo1

I screwed up Bindlestick Hoppy Wheat...what did I do?

Hey all,

I'm not a total noob anymore, but still pretty new.  I made the Bindlestick Hoppy Wheat exactly as the recipe said (followed it exactly).  I finally got it bottle conditioned and ready to go, and it was so bad.  It is so unbelievably bitter and hoppy that you can't stomach a whole beer.  It is spit take worthy when you take the first drink. 

What on earth could have happened to have this be the result of the brew?  I really want to learn what I did wrong, because EEK...

6 minutes ago, MRB Josh R said:

Did you let it age at room temps for 2 weeks after it was carbonated?

Oh yes. Its been about 5 weeks now, and it still tastes the same. 

Sounds like it may have an infection. Can you describe the flavor better? Hops do not get more bitter over time, they do the complete opposite. This beer is only 38 IBUs and shouldn't be bitter at all unless you have some sort of infection.

Also, some people simply perceive bitterness more than others so it could just be your taste buds, too.

15 hours ago, MRB Josh R said:

Sounds like it may have an infection. Can you describe the flavor better? Hops do not get more bitter over time, they do the complete opposite. This beer is only 38 IBUs and shouldn't be bitter at all unless you have some sort of infection.

Also, some people simply perceive bitterness more than others so it could just be your taste buds, too.

I was worried about it being infected, but I've never had a brew get infected before so I wasn't sure what to look for other than bottle bombs (which didn't happen). 

The flavor tastes like it is 100 IBU's.  It tastes just like you pick up a handful of bittering hops and started chewing on them.  That's the only way I know how to describe it.  Remember the Keystone Light bitter beer face commercials?  That's what your face does when you taste it.