Mr.Beer Community

Hello everyone.  I just wanted to introduce myself to the forum.  I am new to brewing and appreciate all the help I can get.  I have two LBK's and am currently brewing the Churchill and the Double Black Diamond.  Both kegs are at a constant temp of approx. 65 degrees.  The Churchill is at the two week time frame and the Double Black is approximately 1 week.  My question is, can I sample this at two weeks to see if the flavor is good or should I wait longer?  I just want these beers to come out right and don't want this to be a big waste of time and money.  Any insight will be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

37 minutes ago, oldbagobones said:

Hello everyone.  I just wanted to introduce myself to the forum.  I am new to brewing and appreciate all the help I can get.  I have two LBK's and am currently brewing the Churchill and the Double Black Diamond.  Both kegs are at a constant temp of approx. 65 degrees.  The Churchill is at the two week time frame and the Double Black is approximately 1 week.  My question is, can I sample this at two weeks to see if the flavor is good or should I wait longer?  I just want these beers to come out right and don't want this to be a big waste of time and money.  Any insight will be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

There's really nothing to be gained by sampling it now. Wait till the 3 week mark. Then taste a sample. If it's flat and not sweet, it's done.

2 hours ago, oldbagobones said:

I just want these beers to come out right and don't want this to be a big waste of time and money.  Any insight will be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

As far as that goes, I have wasted quite a bit of time and money because I didn't know what I didn't know early on. However, I know what you mean. I never sample while fermenting. Just try a little at bottling time/3 week mark. With temp control being one of the things I didn't know about up front, you're ahead of the game big time. Good luck!

4 hours ago, oldbagobones said: