Mr.Beer Community
Haggard

New to brewing. Anyone know Art Car IPA by Saint Arnold brewing co can be cloned with an lbk?

Hello,

I'm brand new to brewing except for that one time 15 years ago I made one batch with an LBK.  I've been looking at "pro" kits but I really want to keep things small, so the LBK is very attractive to me.  I do have one question in mind for you experienced brewers: my all time favorite, to date, is Saint Arnold's Art Car IPA.  Is it possible to clone this with an LBK or get something similar? I've been reading reviews on loose ingredients from suppliers such and it seems that high ABV, and citrusy flavor is just a matter of getting the correct ingredients together.  

Also, should I consider installing an air lock onto the lbk or getting a 2nd lbk to ferment separately? 

Haggard,

First of all welcome.

Since you say you are new to brewing the general recommendation is for you to first make several pilot batches so that you have the processes down and understand the brewing process.  Making a clone of a particular beer will either be an extract recipe or more likely an all grain recipe.  Neither of which you are probably ready to tackle at this point with good results.

Since you already have an LBK, my suggestion would be to buy one of Mr. Beer IPA refills and brew it only after familiarizing yourself with the processes necessary to brew good beer.  Plenty of advice on this forum has already been given multiple times by the experienced brewers on this forum.  Then after you have brewed your first recipe, try another and then try another.  With time you will get better at the craft and will then have enough knowledge to tackle a high ABV clone of a beer.

Dawg

Thanks for the welcome and response.  I will take your advice and brew a few vailable kits and read through the forum.  I'm still hopeful of the prospect of keeping my favorite beer after I move out of its region.  

Welcome to the forum, Haggard, and your return to brewing!