Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Jims Brew

Moon Man

Hi Brew Buddies,

I'm new to Mr.Beer and interested in manking my own home brew like New Glarus MOON MAN. Anyone have a home recipe or know of a Mr.Beer recipe that would be similar to Moon Man?

Moon Man is pretty delicately flavored for a Pale Ale with 35 IBU's according to the lady who answers the phone. Doubling up the Classic American Blonde Ale, or the Cowboy Golden Lager along with a bag of booster would probably get you a reasonable approximation of the body, ABV, and bitterness of the Moon Man. Moon Man also makes liberal use of aroma hops, I'm not certain which, but I think Cascades would give you a good approximation. I'd use a full oz. added when you mix your LME's into the hot water, and leave them in for the entire fermentation. I think that will get you close.

Thanks for a good place to start. Wondering if your recommendation is to use two of the same extract two CABAs or two CGL? 1 HME and the other an UME, or do you mean one of each? Also any recommendations on the Hops boil? Yeast recommendation?

Starter Recipe (for tweaking)
1 Classic American Blonde Ale HME or Cowboy Golden Lager HME
1 Classic American Blonde Ale UME or Cowboy Golden Lager UME
(or a combination of 1can each flavor? )
1 Booster
1oz. Cascade Hops - pellet?
2 Mr.B Yeast pkgs or (Recommend?)

Follow MrB instructions for advance multi can recipe.

What do you think of this hop schedule adding to booster and UME?
1/2 oz of Cascade for 15-20 min -Flavor
1/2 oz of Cascade for 5-10 min -Aroma
Than finish with adding the HME after flame out
Follow Mr.B instructions.

Unless a lot has changed, there is no classic american blonde ale "UME" or cowboy golden lager "UME". As Both are HOPPED malt extracts. Just the Creamy Brown, Golden Wheat, Mellow Amber or Pale Export UME. Or am I missing something here?

Forgive the newbie....