Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
WolfMagus

Plastic Bottles: How long

I need to get more bottles and I'm debating on glass vs plastic. I've read that glass is better than plastic for bottling because over time plastic can let air in and make your beer go bad. Problem is I can't seem to find any info on how long you can store beer in plastic before you run a risk of contamination. Anyone know the answer? I prefer the PET bottles for a number of reasons, but I'm concerned about the longevity if I want to age a brew for a longer period of time. Any help is appreciated.

I am no expert but I have been told the plastics go bad after about 6 months. I am going to step up to glass bottles for my next batch. I use plastic now and am aging my beers a lot longer and am gettign worried they might get ruined.

I have converted to glass but I have 16 pet bottles that i use one for each batch to check coronation. That way i dont have to perv my brew boxes. I keep them with my kegs

smokediverxxx wrote:

good question.....BTW, Mr Beer has their 8 pack of 1 liter PET bottles on sale for $10

Yeah, but don't like the 1 liter bottles. Too much for just me, the beer gets warm before I finish.

TMed wrote:

I have converted to glass but I have 16 pet bottles that i use one for each batch to check coronation. That way i dont have to perv my brew boxes. I keep them with my kegs

What's coronation? :)

I've been using almost all glass for quite a while, but I had a PET that I bottled on 9/24 that I stuck in the fridge last night. It seemed to be fully carbed. I think I had some in a box once that I forgot about for 6 months and they were all okay. I don't think I'd want to go much longer than that, though.

I love the PET bottles. Just easier to wash and sanitize 8 bottles plus I don't have room to store a bunch of cases of beer. And I never have a problem drinking a liter of beer! Or two or three... :cheer: