Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
merline

2 new-brewer questions

Hi,
I'm new to this stuff but have made 2 successful MB batches so far. I do have a couple general questions:
1) When dealing with multiples HMEs, should one use all the yeast packets (assuming the dry yeast is what's called for in the recipe)? In other words, if I make something with 2 HMEs should I use both packets? But what about the UMEs? No need to increase the yeast with these?

2) I have read some of the recipes and it looks like some of the more complex ones suggest a 3 week fermentation time, as opposed to 2 weeks (at ~66-70 *F). If I do that, would it then be bad if that 3 weeks got stretched into 3.5 weeks? I'm trying to time the fermentation start for my next batch but will be out of town right at the 3 week point.

Thanks much for the assistance!
-Ellis (Raleigh, NC, USA)

merline wrote:

1) When dealing with multiples HMEs, should one use all the yeast packets...

Yes. Use both packets of yeast

2) I have read some of the recipes and it looks like some of the more complex ones suggest a 3 week fermentation time, as opposed to 2 weeks (at ~66-70 *F). If I do that, would it then be bad if that 3 weeks got stretched into 3.5 weeks?

No. 3.5 weeks of fermentation should be no problem. But are you sure the instructions are not referring to conditioning time? Either way, your fine.

Edit: Welcome to the forum!!!!!! :chug:

Welcome merline!

3 weeks is generally the max time but i would assume a few extra days wont be a big deal.

If using 2 HME's I'd use both packets....it takes alot to over pitch and this way your covered. That being said, I have used 1 packet on recipes with i hme and 1 ume equivelant. If it were me, and I was going to be away and cant monitor if its moving along ok, I'd get a pack of 11.5g yeat at my Local Home Brew Store (LHBS) and use that instead of the under the lid yeast....just my opinion

Mr Beer actually instructs you to use both packets of yeast.