Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
duranko1332

All Grain!

A new friend of mine Noah showed some friends and I his all grain brewing steps this weekend. It was really awesome and very eye opening.

We created an "Edward De Vere Stout" in roughly 4 hours and it was a blast. If you can find someone who is cool enough to teach you some all grain stuff totally go for it!

I plan on continuing learning Mr.Beer recipes for now but one day I would like to get an all grain set up going.

I have been doing all grain brew in the bag batches and I love it. Its not much harder than steeping some grains in some water and removing the bag. The beer tastes better and is much cheaper to make.

I just did my second AG batch yesterday and love it. First batch was BIAB method and I realized I am not that good at it. So before this last batch I built a Mash lauter tun out of a 5 gallon circular cooler with directions that I found online and it worked out amazingly well. I plan on doing this a lot and it I only have the Mr. Beer setup so I do the 2-2.4 gallon batches.

crazybrody is right, this last batch only cost $13 (although I already had the yeast).

Youtube taught me how to do all grain brewing...

Every year my wife and I donate our time to the Local Dollars 4 Scholars in Windsor Locks, CT. They have an Auction to raise scholarship money for the students there. We work as Pat and Vanna, showing the items that people are bidding on. This year I asked Mr. Beer to donate something, which they did and it was awesome! The kit, along with a $25 dollar gift card to Midwest Supplies sold for about $55. Not only that, I included a certificate from myself entitling the person to brewing lessons for the kit and more. I'm going to get him started and also show him how to bottle and all the procedures that go with it.