Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
gophers6

adding honey

I am new to Mr. Beer, having brewed only the WPCA that came with it. I'm surprised at how good it is. My next batch will be the wiezen with booster. I like honey wheat beer so I'd like to add honey to this next batch. Any hints on 1.how much, 2.when to add, 3. still use all the booster? Thanks.

1. I would start off with a cup.
2. Add it when you mix in the extracts to make the wort.
3. You can still use all of the booster. However you do have to remember that you will need to let the beer ferment for an extra week because you are adding the honey. A good rule of thumb is one week per fermentable. So if the recipe is one can of extract, a pack of booster, and a cup of honey would need about three weeks.

norman1 wrote:

I am new to Mr. Beer, having brewed only the WPCA that came with it. I'm surprised at how good it is. My next batch will be the wiezen with booster. I like honey wheat beer so I'd like to add honey to this next batch. Any hints on 1.how much, 2.when to add, 3. still use all the booster? Thanks.

Remember that honey does not impart it's flavor to the beer. Rather it gives the beer a dry finish. I would suggest that you start at 1/2 cup and try that much.

Also consider replacing the booster with a can of UME or a pound of DME instead. It will give your beer much more body.

And, if you are going to stray off the path a wee bit, and we all do, heck some of us just run nekkid throught the woods, I'd say you need to get a hydrometer for those experiments. They don't cost much, and just use the tube it came in for your sample, that way you don't use up much.
:side:

If your honey is pasturized you can add it with the HME. However, if your honey is unpasteurized, be sure to boil it for a bit.

yankeedag wrote: