Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
GWCR

#9 - Belgian Dubbel

Brewed the MRB Seasonal Dubbel tonight. Easy as pie again. So easy that I made a rookie mistake (which actually reminded me that, yes, I am still a rookie).

Thought I had everything mixed well in the kettle. Used my wort chiller, and poured into the LBK. Set the pot in the sink, and went about topping off with water, taking a hydrometer reading and pitching the yeast.

While the hydrometer was spinning I turned and flipped the faucet on to wash the brew kettle. Back to the hydrometer, and it is 1.056 (temp corrected). Seems a bit low compared to other reports on here. Back to the brew kettle, and the water is brown. Seems that I didn't get it quite mixed up well enough, and there was a layer of HME still on the bottom of the kettle. :angry: To make matters worse, I overfilled the LBK to halfway between the line and the Q (that was on purpose).

So my Dubbel will be a little weak. Hopefully it will still taste good.

Lesson for others, make sure the wort is well mixed, and use a rubber scraper to get everything off the bottom of the brew pot!

Edit: Recipe Link

Bad news: you left a little condensed beer goodness in the pot.

Good news: you will have beer, glorius homemade, your friends will be envious, delicious beer!

Sham Addams wrote:

Bad news: you left a little condensed beer goodness in the pot.

Good news: you will have beer, glorius homemade, your friends will be envious, delicious beer!

Yeah, I know. Just a bit disappointed in myself. I was surprised how much was on there, since that hadn't happened to me before. Figured I should post the bad along with the good...

Just goes to show how much extra goodness MRB puts into the seasonals. Was krausening away nicely this morning, so beer is being made.