Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
rmoore4556

Need help with Newcastle clone

Hey everyone!

I'm relatively new to the home brewing process, but I'm ready to start trying more than the basic booster and HME refills. I want to brew a Newcastle Brown Ale clone, so I asked Mr. Beer's live chat what to use.
They suggested the following: West Coast Pale Ale, Creamy Brown UME, and 1/2 ounce of willamette hops. I'm going to use booster as well to get 6% abv. I've already ordered all of the ingredients, so I'm committed.

Now, I have two questions:

1. Are these ingredients good for a Newcastle-style beer, and would anyone here add/remove anything from that list?

2. This will be my first time hopping my beer...I've researched the different processes through this forum and manuals, but am still uncertain in the process. I read that dry hopping for more than five days can bring a "veggie" taste to the beer...but from what I understand, opening the keg fermentor can spoil the beer...How would I remove the hops? And I'm guessing that if I were to boil the hops with the UME and booster for 5-10 minutes it would be an awful mistake to use a muslin sack (but I dont want hop chunks floating in my beer...?). I guess my main question here is: Which hopping method should I use for this particular brew, and how exactly do I go about it? (I bought the muslin sacks just in case I need them)

Thanks!

Put the hops in after 2 weeks of fermentation and let it ferment for one more week. Put a few marbles or washers in the hop sack (all sanitized of course) open the lid drop it in and close the lid. I've done many additions this way and the chances of anything bad getting in your beer is really slim as long as you open and close the lid fairly quickly. Good Luck!! :)

Sorry forgot to say welcome to the BORG!!! Also this will get you pretty close to New Castle. Let us know how it turns out!! :)