Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Manowarfan1

Scottish Wee Heavy additive question

Hi all - in searching thru the threads I have seen a few variations on the Wee Heavy. Some used the butterscotch (or increased the dose) some omitted it and some added Scotch (Chivas).

I bought a mini of each (Schnapps and Chivas) - they are 50 ML each which is obviously more than the teaspoonage required in the recipe.

Has anyone combined both? Does it sound like a disaster? I dont want to bge overwhelmed by butterscotch but a little sounds ok, and the warming factor of the Chivas sounds like it would be a good addition but as a newbie I really don't know what effect adding hard alcohol would have on it.

Any thoughts? And what would be a good yeast to use with any/either addition or amounts? Hoping to brew this a few hours from now - a snow day seems perfect for making a wintry beer.

Cheers
jeff

Any idea on which yeast would go best with this style? I have seen things that recommend various hops for various styles but not yeasts, although i think in lhbs they had a poster on it. Would a scottish ale be considered to be the same as/similar to an english ale?

I have a safale s04
safale s05
Nottingham
a plain Coopers
and a bunch of Mr Bs
a safbrew t58
and a liquid 1272 American Ale 2 - liquid

Cheers
jeff

Of the choices you have I would probably use the S-04.

I used the s-04 in my latest a mixed the scotch and butterscotch. I let you know in a month or so How it turned out. I can't imagine anything bad because i've seen it made both ways and its turned out well.So it should be amazing combined, as long as you don't get greedy with the additives.

Lionheart, how did that mix between the two turn out? I am making a new batch and I am curious to find out how yours came out.