Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
comfort241

HELP!!!

Please excuse my ignorance, as I am new to this.
I am having trouble understanding "HME","UME", and "BOOSTER"
when making two gallons, do you have to use two cans of either HME or UME and can you use "BOOSTER" in any of the recipes? Or am I just asking a stupid question?

You need a can of HME because it has the hops for bitterness.

To that, you can add UME and/or Booster. Some HME cans are designed to be used with two HME.

All malt is usually best, but Booster is okay if it isn't too much of the total.

Welcome to the Borg!

Please read: http://community.mrbeer.com/index.php?option=com_kunena&Itemid=124&func=view&catid=8&id=123726

It explains alot. All I will add is, if you use the standard recipe you probably got with your kit, you have one HME (hopped malt extract) and one bag of booster. It will make good beer, but I highly recommend you measure out one cup of booster and throw the rest in the trash can. It will taste better, u will have good beer. Feel free to ask anythang, don't be shy, there are lots on here that love to help. We've all been there!

BTW ... Welcome to the MB family!

There are NO stupid questions here. Only questions that we don't yet have an answer to.

If you go to the MB home site and look at some of the "Recipes" not the ingredients, you will see how the combination of HME, UME, and booster go together to make a particular beer. All of the recipes have at least one HME (Hoopped) Malt Extract and a UME (Unhopped) Malt Extract OR a Booster OR both.

Two cans of HME will double the hop bitterness. Booster is an expensive way to add some body and ABV to the brew. It is cheaper than adding a can of UME.

As said above, read the stickies. Also, there are Podcasts that are helpful in answering questions.

Again, Welcome!

dferron wrote:
[quote
There are NO stupid questions here. Only questions that we don't yet have an answer to.