Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
sickfish

painful question

:blink:
Why inthe w0rld did u open it???
JK, as long as no stirring or anything done to it, no worries.
but... why did u open ?

:S

Im not too experienced, but ive read alot about open fermentations. Aparently they do it alot in Europe. So I wouldnt worry about 10 seconds with the lid off man. It's just good sense to keep it sealed...

I think it's probably long past saving. Unfortunately, you can't just dump it down the drain. You need to let it ferment to completion, bottle it up and send it to me. I have all the necessary equipment to safely dispose of it.

Of course, the equipment is a refrigerator, a beer glass and me.

It's not a good idea to take the lid off during fermentation, but if it's off for short periods, odds are very good that you'll be fine.

You're fine. I've heard that they start chopping balls off if you hit 15 second...but 10 seconds...they let it slide.

It's all good, just make sure u don't drop the flashlight in when pervin! LOL

Elsteve-o wrote:

hopefully you didnt get any drool in there ;)

Drool might be good, does not dogfish head (or whatever they are) spit in their brew tanks for flavor?

+1 on probably nothing bad happened.

But this is a good time to point out that, unless it's obvious that your beer is contaminated (and a quick taste test will tell you that), never, NEVER dump out a batch. There are plenty of stories of guys who thought their beer was ruined for one reason or another, but they bottled it anyway, and it turned out fine. In some cases, it turned out to be some of the best beer they'd ever made.

Go the distance.

FedoraDave wrote: