Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
manosteel9423

Looking for some advice (Shameless Stout Variation

I'm still pretty new to this, but I'm a big fan of stout beers, so I don't want to mess this one up. I have ordered the Shameless Stout recipe from MRB and was planning to also add a can of the Sticky Wicket Oatmeal Stout HME to ramp it up a bit. Here is what the recipe would look like:

1 Can St. Patrick's Irish Stout HME
1 Can Sticky Wicket Oatmeal Stout HME
1 Can Creamy Brown UME
1 Pouch Booster™
1 Packet Safale S-04 Ale Yeast

I figured I had better do a bit better than the standard MRB yeast, so after some research I decided to go with the S-04.

Does anybody have any suggestions about this? Is the Sticky Wicket a bad idea? Should I avoid the booster if using another HME? Maybe replace the booster with a different adjunct?

I'm really just looking for some ideas from the more experienced guys in here. I don't think I'm ready for anything like a hop boil yet, but I'm certainly very open to suggestions!!

Thanks,
Mano

I have one more question, if anybody is kind enough to answer it...with a stout, am I looking at a longer fermentation and conditioning time? The instructions say a minimum of two weeks to ferment and 4-6 weeks to condition, which is what I would normally do, but is two or three times what MRB usually recommends.

Should I take that to mean I should double or triple my regular times? Should I go four weeks in the LBK and 2 or 3 months to condition?

It should be done fermenting within 2 to 3 weeks. I usually let my brews go for a full 3 weeks just to make sure they are done.