Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
dizzione

My first time.

I am a 31 year old from Pittsburgh PA. I have had a craft beer love for 2 years now started with a little Dogfish Head 90 min IPA. I favor strong ABV beers and I have started drinking Barley Wine (Flying Dog's Horn Dog) recently. I want to brew my own because of the love of the beer and the desire to make my own. I started my first batch today. I am anxious to see what you guys think. This is my first time brewing beer. here is my recipe.

1 can Classic American Blonde Ale HME
1 package Booster
1 package Brewers yeast (under HME lid)
1 can of Oregon Dark Sweet Cherries in Heavy Syrup

I followed the basic instructions to put the beer together. Except I pureed the cherries and syrup in a blender and added the puree to the keg water before the wort. I realize now that I would have liked to add some sugar or honey. I think that it is too late now since I have already pitched the yeast. i'm good with this and I'm using this as a learning experiance. What do you think it will turn out like?

It should be a fine beer. Not the hoppy, high ABV beer you like, but still a satisfying one.

As far as adding honey or sugar, you're better off not having done that. It will increase the ABV%, definitely, but it will also result in a thin, cidery beer that requires more conditioning time to become enjoyable.

Good for you for wanting to brew your own beer. Good for you for taking the first step. Now, continue to be good and use your first four or five batches to learn the basics. Don't get ahead of yourself by adding a lot of stuff or trying to duplicate your favorite craft brew. If you're in this for the long haul, you've got plenty of time, and take it from me, you'll progress faster if you take it slow right now. That sounds like a contradiction, but it's not.