Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Longtrain

Carbination Questions

I'm a newbie to Mr. Beer having finished my first kit, the standard IPA, which came out very well.

I finished my second kit, Octoberfest, I fermented the batch to specifications and prior to bottling I had a flat beer with no sweetness, fermentation went fine. I bottled it in 12 oz bottles with 3/4 tsp of corn sugar instead of granulated white sugar, and additionally I carbed a few with carb tabs, using 4 and 5 tabs as a test.

I have let the bottles carb in the cellar, ~65 F for 3 weeks, I placed one of the carb tabbed and corn sugar bottled in the frig, and after a couple of days of chilling, I opened them up for a taste.

Well, the carb tabbed beer was flat, no carbination at all, the corn sugar bottle was lightly carbed, the head disappeared in 3 minutes. The beer tasted ok, just pretty flat.

So, did I screw up going to corn sugar or get the amount wrong or do they just have to sit for a while longer?

Thanks for your help,

Tony

Guest System Admin

Before you condition, you're supposed to let them carb at room temp for two weeks. After that you condition for another two, that can be done at room temp or cold conditioned....where you have it now. I think if you get them to a warmer environment for two weeks you should be fine.

Typically when a beer is flat, it means you need more time for the yeast to work at room temperature. Depending on how much stuff you toss in your brews, and how healthy your yeast was when you pitched it, impacts on how quickly it carbonates. Take it all out of the fridge and let it sit in a quiet place for another couple of weeks, then try one bottle and see how much the carbonation has improved.

Thanks, cellar was a bit too cold I guess. Upstairs they go and I'll check them in a couple of weeks.