Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Jimbazo

3-2-2 Rule

What is the 3-2-2 rule? I'm a newbie and see this everywhere but with no explaination. I'm trying to fill my small brain with as much beer brewing knowlegde. This is a fun hobby that could turn into a brewing addiction.....At least I hope!!! :woohoo:

3 weeks fermentation, 2 weeks carbonation at a similar temperature, 2 weeks conditioning at either the same temperature or a bit lower

Yep. That nails it.

Except to mention that the final 2 should actually be 2+, since the beer will likely improve with a little more warm conditioning. But it will be drinkable and quite enjoyable at 3-2-2.

Once you get your pipeline built up, you'll be enjoying beer that's conditioned for a couple of months, and really seeing how much of a difference it makes.

alright, i get the 3 and the first 2 but.. so all you do is move the bottles to a slightly lower temp for another 2. Now Fedora Dave you said 2+ and spoke of more warm conditioning. Which is it? And sorry for this stupid question but what is my pipeline? lol sorry!

:borg: Welcome to the BeerBorg Information Center Jimbazo. You will be assimilated. Resistance is quite futile: We have beer.

You'll find the answers to that in the simple guide line sticky. I'm told it's a easy read. Just keep the new bottles at the same temp you fermented them at and you should do just fine.

The 3-2-2 started as 2-2-2, where the third 2 was in the fridge. For a variety of reasons, the third 2 ended up changing from refrigerator time to room temperature time. Then the first 2 changed to a 2-3 and has slid all the way to 3 for many brewers. I think there are also a few who go 3-3-3.

But even though there's no real difference between the last two 2s now, there was when the rule started.

Jimbazo wrote: