Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Gods Country Brewer

Which grains should I steep ?

I have 3 recipes on hand and am asking which grains should I steep, how much grains, and in how much water ?

1. Big Ed's Red
2. Old Uncle Arnold
3.Jazzberry Ram

Thanks
Steve (GCB)

Steep the Specialty grains...some, but not all unless you want to...in a lot of water

Steeping usually is done in water with a ratio of 1gal per pound of grain, but more water can be done without issue. I'd suggest about a half pound to start (thats total so maybe 1/4lb of carapils and 1/4 of 80L for the Red)

I am assumning these are MrB size

GCB,

A newbie here as well. From what I can see, the most common and most usable grain for steeping is crystal.

However, it all depends on what you are trying to add to your beer. Since all your beers are pale ales ( I think.) Black patent malt and chocolate might not fit the style you are trying to go for. Perhaps Old Uncle Arnold, but I think that would be changing the beer a bit.

CarPils is safe in just about anything as it will add body and head retention, but very little to no flavor or coloring

My first couple of times I used 4 oz of 20L crystal to be conservative. In attempt to impart some sweetness as well as body and head retention without impacting the color too much.

However, as mnstarzz13 says 1/2lb seems to be a common amount for Mr.Beer sized recipes.

That's kind of a broad question, do you have any thoughts on what you're looking to add to those recipes? Body, flavor, color, head/lacing? You can't hurt anything by steeping some carapils/carahell/carafoam. You could also do a light crystal malt. Much beyond that I think you need to have an idea of what you want the end result to be so you can choose a grain(s) that will help you get there.

Cheers!

mnstarzz13 wrote: