Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
LouieMacGoo

HCCD, I think it's got the Crud!

I just pulled a couple of bottles of the HCCD that I brewed on Feb, 11 and bottled on Feb, 25 to see how they were doing and to put in the fridge to try out over the weekend and I noticed there is a haze or cloudiness on the inside of the bottles! Not just one or two but the whole batch. Since I am still relatively new to brewing and bottling I can only assume that my sanitization wasn't good some where in the brewing/bottling process and this haze that I see is a mold or algae? :(

The one thing that I did differently with this batch is that I ran the bottles through the dishwasher with the "sanitize" cycle but I'm thinking that this didn't work so well.

Lost batch of beer but a gain in my knowledge! :unsure:

I am so bummed right now. :S :(:angry:

A bit of haze in the bottles doesn't mean anything bad has happened. Stick them in the fridge for two days and they should clear up. You might just have some sediment floating around in there and the cold temperatures will drop it out of suspension.

Don't panic until you open one and taste it...if it tastes horrible, panic.

Guest System Admin

Sorry you need to package up and send to me for proper disposal.

I am thinking it is "Chill-Haze"

I notice if I take a home brew and place in the fridge for a couple of hours (when cold) and drink, way more cloudy. I find it can take 2 days for it to clear up on some beers, why I always load my fridge every Sunday for the next weekend.

Better beer if allowed to chill for 3 days or more

Also for future reference, you can even get haze in beers WHEN you chill them even if they started off clear before you did. This should not happen with HCCD, but more likely when you start brewing with grains. If it does, although it's a "defect" in the beer, it doesn't typically affect the flavor, it's just a visual thing, and the beer is perfectly fine to drink.