Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Rob10

No Fermentation

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post on the forum, and I have a question about fermentation for the American Blonde ale w/booster. My first brew was the Cowboy Lager, haven't tasted it yet but I bottled it today. So, when I added the yeast to the wort for the Cowboy it basically started fermenting right away at around 70degrees, almost immediately after I set the keg in it's place. I could see the foam on top and it was bubbling quite a lot.

Today I brewed the American Blonde ale w/booster same temperature and it doesn't seem to be fermenting at all. I did it the exact same way as the Cowboy Lager, but no visible signs. I can see at least 1/4 inch or yeast at the bottom, some sitting on top and some suspended. I just understood that when the fermentation process is over is when I should see the yeast at the bottom. Should I shake it up? Warm it up?

Help!

Thanks

I'm no expert but I do know from reading here that every beer is different. Don't sweat it and check back in a couple days and enjoy a good craft beer (in a bottle suitable for harvesting).

Ok thanks, I was just worried about the yeast sitting at the bottom of the keg and if it rise back up to the top

Hi Rob. Welcome to the forums and the obsession.

You should be just fine. Not all recipes react the same. Not even the same recipe is guaranteed to react the same as it did before. Just give it a little more time and I'm sure you'll be ok. After some more lag time, I bet you'll start to see some activity.

Rick

Thanks Rick,

What about the yeast at the bottom already, is it fine to just leave it like that?

Yes sir. Just leave it as is and you'll be fine. Take a look tomorrow and you should definitely see some activity. I've noticed with some of my batches, it can take a few hours or better before I start seeing any noticeable activity.

Rick