Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
kenjsmith

Black and Tan Suggestions

Good Day,
I'm fairly new to the MR Beer and so far I'm enjoying the experience.
I have already completed 3 standard recipes (WCPA, Canadian Draft & Blonde) and have American Devil IPA conditioning, and fermenting 1776(even boiled the hops) and Blue Lightning.

I would like to brew two batches at once to give me the ability to make a classic black and tan. I enjoy the classic Guinness Stout on top and Bass Pale Ale on bottom.

I'm looking for suggestions on what 2 refills or recipes I should do to emulate each for good classic black and tan.

Please Note: I'm not looking for a Guinness or Bass clone.
I'm trying to understand the best 'MR BEER version' stout and Ale to use.

Thanks!

:borg: Welcome to the BeerBorg Information Center kenjsmith. You will be Assimilated. Resisstance is quite futile: we have beer.

I tried doing that a few years ago... wasn't able to actually keep them seperated. So, best of luck to you. Maybe someone else will chime in with that information.

For the stout try either Sticky Wicket or Blarney Stone Irish Stout. For the Ale Elkhorn Point Ale is about as close to an English style Pale ale you can get using Mr Beer. It's not spot on but should work! Good Luck and post some pics with that first pour!!

BTW: Welcome to the BORG!!!

In order to keep them separated I've heard you would have to use nitrogen carbonation as is normally used in the stout

Welcome to the forum!

Have never did or had one, cann't help ya on that one.

"JonEleven" post=254603 said:

In order to keep them separated I've heard you would have to use nitrogen carbonation as is normally used in the stout

Nah... nitrogen isn't necessary. It might help, but it's not necessary.