Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
antiwraith

Bottling with glass bottles

With plastic they say you are fully carbonated when you can squeeze the plastic bottle and it won't give any. But I want to reuse some of the glass bottles left over from beer purchases. With glass, how do you test carbonation other than time and testing one to see if it's ready? If you do open one to test and it isn't fully carbonated, can you recap it and keep going? Any tips on not busting my glass bottles? They are all 12 oz bottles. Can I reuse any glass beer bottle (with caps from mr beer)?

I have used nothing but glass bottles since I started brewing. Generally they are fully carbed in 2 weeks or so, but I generally don't open a bottle for 4 weeks after bottling.
No you really can't recap if it is not fully carbed.

You can use pretty much any pry off type bottles. Twist offs don't cap well and frequently break if you try. Brown or Amber bottles protect the beer from UV light better than green or clear. My favorites are Sam Adams. They cap easily and hold up well.

Mr Beer sells metal caps but you can get them much cheaper from a home brew store. You will need a wing capper as well. Mr Beer sells these as well.

Good luck and hope this helps

"antiwraith" post=255564 said:

With plastic they say you are fully carbonated when you can squeeze the plastic bottle and it won't give any. But I want to reuse some of the glass bottles left over from beer purchases. With glass, how do you test carbonation other than time and testing one to see if it's ready? If you do open one to test and it isn't fully carbonated, can you recap it and keep going? Any tips on not busting my glass bottles? They are all 12 oz bottles. Can I reuse any glass beer bottle (with caps from mr beer)?