Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Nealoneal

Advice please, All grain or 5 gal batch? or both?

Hey folks,

I am a newb with 7 batches under my belt. I have been doing all extracts until the last 3 when I introduced steeping grains to the mix, thanks to the help of bugladen and the recipe collaboration.

So I was planning on doing a mr beer sized all grain batch using the BIAG method. I have been researching it a lot and I think I have my head wrapped around it.

Then my neighbor shows up yesterday and gives me his old 5 gal bucket fermenter and a 6 gallon glass carboy. So now I am all mesmerized by the thought of making 5 gallons.

I don't want to get in over my head so I am looking for advice. Should I stick my course and try all grain in a mr beer sized batch or should go for the gusto and use the new toys with an all grain batch? OR should I just try and make another beer along the same line of difficulty, extract, steeping grains and hop boils, just in a 5 gal batch size.

Which is a more logical step?

Thanks in advance you guys rock!

If you have a big enough brew kettle go for the gusto.

Or you could split the difference and do a 5 gallon partial mash.

Here are my initial thoughts on your next step:

1) if you do a LBK all grain, you can see how it goes and not waste too much $$ on ingrediants if things go south
2) if you do a 5gal (AG or Extract) you may learn you might need bigger/different brewing tools (ie. larger siphon, funnel, etc) than you already have.
3) if you do a 5gal batch, you will get 2x more beer

So i guess it depends what your interested in. Which ever you choose, you will gain some experience.

"Gymrat" post=257474 said:

If you have a big enough brew kettle go for the gusto.

+1 - What size pot do you have? For a 5-gallon BIAB, you will need at least a 30 qt pot, 35-40 qt is ideal. You can do an LBK-sized BIAB batch in a 12-16 qt pot.