Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
vitch61

Booster v All Malt

Hi guys. I'm new to the forum. In fact, I'm relatively new to brewing beer. I just bottled my second batch and look forward to brewing a third tomorrow. Both batches have been all-malt. I'm thinking about going standard with this batch by using Booster. Will doing same produce a cidery taste? I worry about that kind of taste. Thanks for listening.

In my non-expert opinion, you're usually better off with all-malt. There are exceptions, like Belgian Triples or light summer ales perhaps. I brewed two standard MB kits as-is, and I found them to be too thin. Plus, your beer tends to need more conditioning time to mellow out.
In regards to your concern of getting a cidery taste, stick to the rule of thumb for adjunct, and you'll probably be OK. Read this. The best way to learn when/how much sugar to use, is read through the forum. Do a specific search for a type of sugar, and you'll find more examples than you will ever need.

Thanks for the link and your comments re: Booster v all-malt. Hey, I'm really getting into this. Very interesting stuff.

I like the batches I've done with all malt and no booster. That is not saying that I think the booster is bad (not at all). My personal taste is for a heavy bodied beer, so I tend to do 2 HME cans, leave out the booster, and maybe steep some grains. If I want to boost the ABV beyond what I have, then the booster is a good option. My $.02

I use Booster for batch priming and thats it anymore.

If you have a bunch of booster and you don't want to go out and buy more malt, then why not use it? Either use it all up, or use it for bottling/batch priming. Won't hurt necessarily, but it also won't help make the beer more flavorful.