Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
alb

Barley crusher!

My barley crusher was delivered today! It came adjusted to 1mm spacing. Does that sound right to keep it there, or do I need to adjust it before I start?

This weekend is filled up but next weekend I'm making Dave's American Ale. Dave, would that recipe do well with some lime zest in it?

"alb" post=266195 said:

My barley crusher was delivered today! It came adjusted to 1mm spacing. Does that sound right to keep it there, or do I need to adjust it before I start?

This weekend is filled up but next weekend I'm making Dave's American Ale. Dave, would that recipe do well with some lime zest in it?

I've been brewing AG for 2 years now and still don't have my very own Barley Crusher!! Not fair!! I'll just stop by to use it when needed. Thanks for sharing! :chug:

I"ve never actually used a gapping tool to measure, but to adjust it, jun some grain through it. If it's all cracked open you are good. If some is open, some still whole, then tighten it a bit. If you are making flour then open it up a bit.

I left my barley crushed on the factory setting. There are marks on the factory setting so you can make sure it is lined up right. Mine gives me a perfect crush right out of the box.

I just ordered the 7lb crusher and every review I've read said the factory setting increased their efficiency compared to buying already milled grain.
Should get mine this week.

trying...not...to...hit...the...buy...button...so...hard....so...tempted...damn you BeerSmith and PayPal.

"alb" post=266195 said:

I got a Victoria mill, rather than an actual barley crusher, and I had to adjust it. Basically, I did what mashani recommended, using a handful of grain at a time and comparing it to what I knew I'd been getting in the crushed grain I'd been ordering online. I basically eyeballed it until it looked right. I've been getting around 75% efficiency since then, so I can't complain.