Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Joechianti

Stuck on High Gravity

I don't know what to make of this. I keep telling myself I'm going to make some low gravity beers for friends and family that prefer light and crisp to heavy and malty. But for the love of Pete, every time I start to do it, I can't go through with it. I just have to add more malt.

It's like when I was a cook, and someone asked for a well done steak. I often had to get someone else to cook it because I couldn't force myself to "ruin" a good steak.

I know it's a matter of taste, and some folks think the heavy malty beer I love so much is crappy tasting to them. You'd think I could be objective about it and make a lighter beer to offer others to drink. But nope. I can't force myself to do it. I feel like it's a waste of time, space, equipment and effort to go to all of the steps to create a batch of beer only to end up with a watered down version of what it could really be.

Is anyone else even remotely this crazy? Or am I just sick in the head? I'm not kidding. I really have a serious mental block about making a low gravity beer. I need help.

Nah, I'm with you Joe. It's one of the reasons I've really jumped into this hobby... I can make good tasting beer with some substance and not have to drink that mass produced ilk.

If friends want light, watered down beer... buy 'em a case o' Coors. It's not worth wasting the time, effort, ingredients, and fermenter space to make half-assed beer.

I got an idea: only pour half a glass of your homebrew, then fill the glass the rest of the way with water.

See how they like that! :evil:

Now, now... Just because the gravity is low, it doesn't mean the beer is bland and watery. You can make a very tasty session beer (4%/abv or lower). I just had a very tasty IPA at my club meeting that had an OG of 1.040, and it was great - not watery or bland - hoppy and refreshing.