Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
OikoEco

When To Do Yeast Starter?

So my buddy recently brewed a hefeweizen with WY3068 and harvested his yeast into 4 mason jars. Luckily he gave me one of his jars so I could brew my Bavarian Hefe this weekend. The thing is...this is my first attempt using harvested yeast and I really want to make sure the yeast are viable before brew day (saturday). I would like to create a starter on Wednesday or Thursday morning at the latest to see if the yeast are viable by Friday morning. That way, if they are not viable, I can make a pitstop by the LHBS on my way home from work on Friday if I need to. I won't have time to go to the LHBS on Saturday.

Would a yeast starter last for 2.5 days before pitching? I just don't see any other way around it.

i_heart_love_yeast_hat-p1484135151087325

Absolutely. There are different takes on this but what I do is make the starter plenty ahead of time. When it's fermented out totally I throw it in the fridge. This drops out almost all the yeast (and some other suspended solids) so that you can decant off all the aerated "beer" that you've fermented without temp control, and pitch mainly yeast (and sediment). I'd say mix that sucker up whenever you get a chance.

I make my starter on a stirplate the morning before brewday and pitch jt about 36 hours later just as the krausen is falling.

No stir plate here, but I'm lucky to have a 1000 mL Erlenmeyer flask, plenty of DME, and some aluminum foil laying around. I'll probably get the starter going early Thursday morning before going to work. I'll then check its progress on friday morning and decide whether another LHBS trip is necessary.

I would love to take the starter in to work with me on Thurs to watch it go, but something tells me that would be illegal according to Illinois state law (operating a motor vehicle with an open alcohol container). Bah!