Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Eric

Liquid Yeast

I am in the process of making my first batch with liquid yeast - I activated it about 24 hours ago, but it has yet to expand/swell.

It may have expanded slightly, but not what I was expecting. Like I said, this is my first time using liquid yeast so I have not frame of reference.

The yeast is german ale and followed the direction as instructed on the package.

Is is ok to use?

What you're describing is definitely not normal. Aqre you sure you actually broke the smack pack?

The best that I can tell - there does not feel like there is anything in the pouch anymore other than liquid.

I even tried hitting it a few more times this morning just in case

Are you talking about a wyeast smackpack?
After smacking, did you keep it in a 75* or so area? Just wanted to make sure you didn't return to the fridge. I've used the smackpack many times and it will usually be plump in 3 hours or so.

it was between 70 and 75 - stored in the cooler i keep my keg in with a thermometer

yes it is the wyeast smack pack

Personally, I would not use the yeast. If it hasn't swollen after 24 hours at room temp, then I would assume the yeast is dead. Where did you purchase the yeast from? Can you exchange it?

ordered it as part of a recipe from mrbeer

I was going to contact customer service tomorrow

"Eric" post=275308 said:

Now there's your problem. Shipping those poor little cells in this +90F heat is enough to kill most of them before they ever reach your doorstep. I would recommend making a one liter starter to revide whatever cells that have survived the journey and hope for the best. Short of that I'd get some dry yeast locally or liquid yeast if it's been properly stored and handled.

Yeah agreed, personally every pack I've ever used swelled up within 2-3 hours to the point I thought it might explode.

"Screwy Brewer" post=275418 said:

"Eric" post=275308 said: