Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Rstanley4

Smack pack not swelling?

So I smacked my 3787 Wyeast pack yesterday evening to have ready for this evening. I've never used this type of yeast before but from the instructions and the what I've heard is that it's supposed to swell to indicate it's ready. Problem is, it hasn't swelled, like at all.. Still looks the same as before I smacked it.

Is this yeast pack a dud? Or is it okay to use? I do have another pack of the 3787 in the fridge (where I've been storing them for a week now) but I planned on using it for another recipe later this week. :dry:

Are you sure you broke the bubble inside? It can be tricky sometimes. Feel around for it, carefully slide it up and to a corner, then smack the sucker good. If it breaks, you will no longer be able to feel it. Was this yeast shipped to you? I don't order liquid yeast in the summer. No telling what damage can occur due to heat exposure. The few times I have used the smack-paks, they have swelled within three hours or so.

Well I'm pretty sure it's been broken, I felt around on the other one to make sure what I smacked was the right thing. I tried feeling around all over it to make sure, and I even went back and smacked all over the damn packet to make sure lol. Yes I did order it online, through Mr. Beer actually. I normally order from my LHBS which only takes a day to get to me and ships with an ice pack. So weather may have been a factor here :(

I will go back and beat it on some more and triple check that I did in fact break the nutrient pack inside.. but I'm kinda feeling it might be a goner..

This seems to be a common story. Yeast shipped during warm weather and arrives dead or dying. I just did a batch Friday morning. I smacked the yeast pack at around 11pm and it was very swollen in a couple of hours and ready to burst the next morning.

11pm
2012-08-2321-56-18278-M.jpg

6am
2012-08-2406-49-24752-M.jpg