Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Ridefast91

2nd Batch

Hello all;

I am just getting into this new hobby and my second batch is almost ready for bottling. I had a couple of questions.

1. My first batch after fermenting 2 weeks and sitting in the bottle for a little over 1 week tasted like apple cider. I am inclined to think this is due to the amount of table sugar added to the bottle during bottling?

2. My second batch will have fermented for 2 weeks in the LBK before I bottle this time. I am thinking of using 1.5 TSP of sugar this time for bottling, what are your suggestions on this? I am using the standard 1 liter PET bottles if this help.

Anyways thank you in advance :)

Cheers,

Ridefast

Welcome! :chug:

A little more info on what you brewed, please. Were these HME+booster recipes? The little bit of sugar added for priming should not impact flavor. That being said, cutting back on the priming amount is fine...the MB guidelines for priming are on the high side.

Anyway, without having anything to go by I'd guess the cidery flavor is a combination of adjuncts (non-malt ingredients...i.e. sugar or booster) and too little time. Wait a few weeks before the next sample and the flavor should be much improved.

EDIT: If you haven't already, I'd recommend reading this and this.

First, its helpful if you can tell us what recipe you've made.
But, 1 week in the bottle is not enough time to really get your beer ready. Cider taste can be a sign of infection but it's likely just way too young. Let it carb another 2 weeks and try again. Some beers need even more time.

Also, if you can substitute a pound of dry malt extract for booster, you'll get a better beer.....more body.

I've found that Mr. Beer's suggestion for carbing to be too much. You might find Screwy's information on bottle priming helpful.

First thank you for the welcome :) I hope I can get the hang of this hobby and enjoy it.