Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Patsguy

New guy

Hello all, by my subject you'll note I'm a newbie here and to brewing. Received my kit for my birthday on oct 7, brewed first batch oct 14, after pats game of course. First batch was west coast pale ale that came in the kit.

I had some experience with dad 20 some odd years ago, have been to local breweries and wineries and have made some wine at one of them. So I'm familiar with the necessity to sanitize everything. Have to mention I was particularly excited about this gift, knowing right well where it would likely lead me (even if the fam didn't get it).

I had the basic kit with LBK, WCPA, bottles etc. and after lurking around here realized I needed more tools for the trade, of course I didn't make the purchase until after I brewed first batch. I never got the OG of that batch but refused to bottle it until I received my hydrometer. After 11 days I got a reading of 1.010 which meant fermentation was done based on info here. Well the sample tasted very bitter to me so I waited a few more days before bottling. I bottled yesterday oct 14 (after pats game of course) and boy was I surprised at the flavor, much better! I'll wait the 2 weeks after bottling and another in fridge for conditioning.

In the mean time, I now have 3 LBK's ready and some other tools so the itch got me going tonight while waiting for the storm to knock out power. Just finished brewing my winter dark ale delux which I intend to have ready for Christmas. Maybe tomorrow ill brew up the classic American blonde ale I received as part of the gift. This still leaves 1 LBK so I'm afraid I'm gonna have to head out to the store to make a selection, maybe an IPA since I'm drinking red hook long hammer IPA and I'm "hooked".

Anyway, hello all and happy brewing!

"Patsguy" post=293291 said:

I'll wait the 2 weeks after bottling and another in fridge for conditioning.

???