Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
thomaso827

Cowboy Lager a Bit Flat

I made up a batch of the Cowboy Lager, 2 weeks in the LBK and now 5 weeks lagered in the refrigerator. My target date to get it out is December 7th, at a two-month mark, but we decided to open one up last night to see how it's going. Taste is pretty much what we were hoping for, but there was no head to speak of, just a little bit of bubbling. Not exactly flat, but not what I've had with my ales and such. This is my first attempt at cold lagering, so I wasnt sure if this is normal or not. 3 12-oz bottles are earmarked for my office christmas party on the 14th of December while the rest is bottled in 24-oz bottles for enjoyment by the wife and me. Thanks for your thoughts.

Tom Oxley

ya,,,,,2 weeks at around 70* is a min to get good carb.

If using a lager yeast, you would still want to be above 45* +?? for good carbing.

yes, all beers wheither or not they are "lagers" or ales they need room temp to carb correctly, anyway you may wanna try three weeks to carb. some beers just take longer to carb and condition. no one knows why. so the only thing i can tell ya is to pull them out of the fridge and let'm go for another week or two. sorry :(

When Mr. Beer speaks of "lagering" they do so irrespective of whether one is using an ale or lager yeast. An ale as mentioned will need to be somewhere around the typical room's temperature depending on how high you crank your thermostat (mine usually sits at 66 this time of year, maybe 68-70 if SWMBO "asks"). A lager yeast will need to be on the cool side. However, most refigerators are set well below what the lager yeast wants to pass gas and make alcohol, and thus they will go to sleep. The beer however can be safely removed from the fridge and put in the yeast's comfort zone and they will wake up and start fizzifying (