Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
jsan2011

How long to leave your brew in the Mr. Beer

I know everybody has their own opinion about how to leave their brew in the fermentor. What is the recommended time needed for your brew. Should I leave it for 7 or 14 days?

Most, including me, recommend 3 weeks in the LBK, then 4 weeks in the bottle before the first taste test.

I'm by no means an expert, will be bottling my third batch (winter Dark Ale) next Saturday. But from the advice I've read here and what I've done is leave it for three weeks although I cheek the SG at around two weeks. So far this has been good advice. These guys here have lots of experience.

Unless you've got a Hydrometer, 21 days in the fermenter, then bottle, wait 4 weeks at room temp, then fridge and drink.

"TNT" post=299141 said:

Most, including me, recommend 3 weeks in the LBK, then 4 weeks in the bottle before the first taste test.

Sage words, worth heeding. Not that I always follow them...

I go 3 weeks in the LBK, even though I have/use a hydrometer.

I sample one after a month, then wait at least another to start drinking the others.

Just the way I "Do IT" .....

:chug:

I also go three weeks in the fermenter, then four weeks at room temperature once bottled. Not only do I feel it benefits the beer, but it fits my brewing schedule. I have three batches going at all times, each brewed a week apart.

Because of the way my work schedule is, I go 19 days in the fermenter, though I could push it to 24/25 if needed.

I also ferment for 3 weeks, even with the hydrometer. It gives the brew more time to mellow out. Then at least 4 weeks carbing and conditioning (most brews usually get longer than that since my pipeline is full).

Guest System Admin

BAM! Right there, pals. 3 weeks in LBK and 4 weeks in bottles. I never deviate from this unless it's a wheat beer or an IPA.