Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
JediJunkie247

Next up: Belgian Blanc

Hello brew brothers and sisters,

Well, I bottled my Beglian dubbel about a week ago. It smelled great and tasted even better at bottling. Now just have to wait for it to "come of age". :laugh:

Up next, I was going to do another Belgian, this time doing a Belgian Wit. So, I've got the stuff for the Belgian Blanc, minus the orange peel and coriander, and possibly some liquid witbier yeast. But my wife gave me a gift card to the local brew supply store for Christmas, so that's just a matter of time.

My question is this:

How much coriander and orange peel would you recommend adding? Also, how and when you recommend adding them?

Well, I'm no expert, however, I have a recipe for making 5 gallons that calls for .4 oz crushed coriander and 1.5 tablespoons of fresh orange zest. Everything I read warns to go easy on the coriander or your brew may get too "peppery" tasting.

Good luck. My next brew may be a Belgian Wit. I got the ingredients together a month ago. Then I decided to scale back the operations some. I'm sure I'll get to it in a month or so. I purchased Wyeast 3942 for my yeast strain.

Good luck!

I've done both a 2.5 gallon batch and a 5 gallon batch.

For the 2.5 gallon, I did 1/4 oz each of both the dried bitter orange peel and the crushed coriander and added them for the last 15 minutes of the boil. And it came out very tasty, it was a good amount of the spices for that sized batch.

For the 5 gallon batch, I used 3/4 oz each of both the spices and added them for the last 7 minutes of the boil. This one is still conditioning so I can't comment on the final product yet. But, at bottling, it was pretty much how I remembered the 2.5 gallon tasting at bottling too.