Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
jason29307

All grain with Mr. Beer

Hello all, this is my first post.
I have been brewing for about 10 years now off and on. Mostly extract W/ grains, some all grain. I am sizing down to 2.5 gallons instead of 5 to experiment with different fruit, spices, honey, chilli's, etc...
I was wondering if any of you guys have any good all grain recipes using your Mr. Beer keg. This is my first Mr beer kit and brewed the light that came with the kit to get time and temps down. I am looking forward to doing experimental 2.5 gallon batches and if they turn out really good, do a 5 gallon batch.
Also, I am wanting to lager some as well. Have you guys ever put your Mr. beer keg in a fridge to lager for a few weeks then take out, bottle, carb, and back in the fridge for conditioning?
Please chime in with your recipes and tips.

most guys do a 5 gallon and split between 2 LBK. You have been brewing awhile the same rules apply. You are not going to want sit on the cake that long with the lagering. The LBK is not good for secondary as its air lock is positive. The CO2 form the fermentation forms a bit of a seal. Once primary is over you lose the pressure and outside air seeps in

[attachment=11583]Welcome09_2013-02-24.gif[/attachment]

You can easily scale any recipe down to 2.4 gallon. I either do AG like that or in 3 gallon better bottles almost exclusively. Just cut any recipe down by a factor of .48 (or .5 if you don't care to be that precise). I also do lagers all of the time... Two weeks in the lager fridge, 4 days or so out of the fridge for a d-rest, and a couple more weeks in the fridge, then bottle.

Welcome aboard! What Swen posted: just use a five gallon recipe and use .48X ingredients for success!
Here's one of my favorite recipes:

[attachment=11584]image_2013-02-25-2.jpg[/attachment]

"swenocha" post=342133 said: