Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
nol1rxr

conditioning

#1 when the 3 week firmintation in the lbk is complete do i have to prime and bottle to condition are can i rack into a cleaned 2nd container to condition and then prime and bottle. #2 does the 2nd container need to be dark? #3 do ihave to use brown plastic bottles are can i reuse cleaned and sanitized 16-20 oz clear plastic sode bottles?

Brown helps to keep light out. If you're using clear bottles, make darned sure you keep them in a dark place.

As far as conditioning, priming is part of that.

i'm not getting mush input tonight is there no one there are does no one care to help tonight. i have gotten good input in the past. did i ask the wrong questions? i am still new to this.

like daustin627 said priming is part of conditioning. if you want to rack to a secondary do that on like week 2 but it is an unnecessary step if you want clearer beer then just cold crash the LBK 3 days prior to bottling that will allow a lot of the yeast in suspension to drop out but still leave enough for carbonation.

what about the bottles as long as they ar kept in the in a room with no sunlight until going in to the fridge.

ok im new but will help to the best of my ability

1. after 3 weeks in the fermentor it should be ready to bottle
2.prime bottles or rack to a bottle bucket and batch prime, then bottle
3. if you use clear bottles keep them out of the light, only reuse bottles that have had carbonated beverage in them before

would a reused rootbeer bottle be a better choice? i hate to invest in new bottles until i know i am going to stick with this fo more than a couple mounths.

use what ya got as long as its a bottle or container that has been used for carbonated beverages before. dark containers are best.

"roadx" post=348404 said:

ok im new but will help to the best of my ability

1. after 3 weeks in the fermentor it should be ready to bottle