Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
stevenf

Question about bottling technique

So in a little more than a week I will be bottling my first batch and I kind of have a process in mind I want to run by you guys. Next Sunday will be three weeks in the LBK for my batch of CAL. I am planning to move the LBK to the fridge for 2 or 3 days, which ever works best for my schedule and bottle it straight from the fridge.

I have ordered a bottling wand from Mr. Beer and was thinking of getting a length of vinyl tubing so I could leave the LBK in the fridge and bottle from the counter a few feet away. I'm not sure if it would be better for the beer to do this or just hook the wand to the the spigot and stand in front of the fridge and do it.

Also do I need to control the flow through the wand with the spigot valve or can I just open it all the way and let the wand control the flow. It's my first time bottling so I need advice.

From what I've read doing the cold crash is a good thing and won't effect the carbonating conditioning phase, correct?

There is no reason to leave the LBK in the frig. It accomplishes nothing as you now want the beer to warm up. I would not cold crash CAL, you didn't add hops or fruit. You can cold crash, it will let you get a tad more liquid out without trub. I cold crash only fruit beers, and will also cold crash my recent steeps.

You open the spigot all the way, the wand controls flow. Lift it off the bottom of the bottle, flow stops. No extra tubing is needed unless you do batch priming in the future.

Cold crash settles things and solidifies the trub. When you bottle, you then want things to warm up so the yeast can turn the sugar into carbonation. 4 weeks at room temp.

Got it Rick. I was just thinking that if I could bottle it without disturbing the LBK by taking it out of the fridge and moving it to the counter, then I wouldn't disturb the trub. I do realize that the bottles need 4 weeks at room temp to carbonate and condition.